Geometry, Topology

& Dynamics Seminar

https://seminar.cayley.kr

We meet by Zoom this semester.

Zoom ID : 393 193 3864

Password: zero minus the Euler characteristic of a closed oriented surface of genus 4000

2020

November 11, 13, 18, 20 (WFWF)

10 am, Korea = (D-1) 8 pm EST, US = (D-1) 2 pm Hawaii

Series of lectures on the Ivanov Conjecture

Nov 11 W

10 - 10:30 am Thomas Koberda (Univ. Virginia)

10:30 - 11:30 am Andrew Putman (Notre Dame)

Nov 13, 18, 20 FWF

10 - 11 am Asaf Hadari (Univ. Hawaii)

November 24 (Tu) 11 am, Korea = Mon 9 pm EST, US (note the time!)

Jingyin Huang (Ohio State Univ)

Measure equivalence classification of certain right-angled Artin groups

The notion of measure equivalence between countable groups was introduced by Gromov as a measure-theoretic analogue of quasi-isometry. In this talk we look at the problem of classifying right-angled Artin groups up to measure equivalence, and we will show that if two transvection-free right-angled Artin groups are measure equivalent, then they have isomorphic extension graphs. As a consequence, two right-angled Artin groups with finite outer automorphism groups are measure equivalent if and only if they are isomorphic. This matches the quasi-isometry classification. On the other hand, we will also mention some aspects of measure equivalence classification of right-angled Artin groups which are dramatically different from the quasi-isometric classification. This is joint work with Camille Horbez.

Organizers

Sang-hyun Kim (KIAS)

Time and place

(Usually) Tuesday 4 pm, KIAS

Mailing list

kiastop@googlegroups.com

Click to subscribe